I drove home from work for a while worrying about what I would write about for my first post on this blog. Then one day, I drove home knowing exactly what I was going to write about.

I sat in a meeting that day, in a room with three other women. We were discussing the particulars for a project I had to complete. At one point in the meeting, one of the women said, “Hey, it could be worse. We could be outside, digging poop trenches.” I responded by saying, “Sometimes, I would rather be doing that.” I don’t think they took me seriously.

The thing is, I was serious. While I sometimes appreciate the fact that my job requires me to sit at a desk for the majority of the workweek, there are days where I struggle with it. I often have to convince myself that what I’m doing makes a tiny difference in the world. That the webinar I’m helping my company advertise will actually help the lawyers at non-profits that we’re trying to reach fight harder for the things in which they believe. That day in the meeting, I realized that sometimes I would rather be digging “poop trenches.” I sat in that meeting and thought about the struggles that women throughout the world face on a daily basis just by trying to get clean water. The risks they face when they’re forced to use non-potable water. All that for something that is considered by the UN as a basic human right.

So no, digging poop trenches isn’t glamorous, but sometimes I’d rather be doing that than sitting in a chair staring at a computer screen, doing nothing. Wouldn’t you?

