I’ve wanted to write a post about popular music for a while, but the content eluded me.  At one point I wanted to write about alternative conceptions of female beauty in music, but could only think of Queen’s Fat Bottomed Girls and Jim Croce’s Roller Derby Queen.  Both songs are awesome, but not really enough to write a whole post about.

Then there was Jason Derulo’s irresistible but horrid-when-you-actually-think-about-it Talk Dirty.  Oh, and let’s not forget Robin Thicke’s Blurred Lines.

Most recently, as I despaired over the battered woman vibe in Ariana Grande’s One Last Time,  two new songs on the pop hits station (or whatever you call what Ryan Seacrest is on) blew my mind.

OMI – Cheerleader

 

Andy Grammer – Honey I’m Good

Given how tuned into popular culture I am, I’m probably the last person around to have found these songs.  Nevertheless, I think they are deceptively revolutionary.  With catchy, fun music, both songs deliver messages we don’t often hear on the radio.

How often have we heard the equivalent of “Baby baby [insert phrase to indicate interest in sex]” or “baby baby I’m so in love with you”, but actually this song is about me?  Instead of these overused but still too common themes, both songs say “Thanks but no thanks, I already have an amazing person in my life.”  The singers (both male) are saying, it’s not about me, its about my amazing partner.  Sitting in my car, I couldn’t believe it as these songs came across the radio.

And the music videos!  Couples of all shapes, sizes, ages, locations, relationship types, and relationship lengths are demonstrating their pride and joy at being together!  Maybe there is such a thing as progress.

